Star Wars…

Here’s a little story about a YouTuber…

I went to ‘Summer in the City’ in August, which (for those that have managed to avoid the chaos) is a YouTube event. An event that I paid to attend. I bought my ticket because I wanted to learn more about the community I’d only recently started to discover and contribute to. I wanted to meet some of the friends I’d made through YouTube and basically just have a great weekend with my best friend. And mostly, I did. On the whole, that weekend was brilliant and we made some memories that I’ll always treasure and still make me laugh over six months later.

One bad memory from that weekend involves one of the ‘bigger’ YouTubers.

Picture the scene. There I am, 24 years old (so feeling positively ancient compared to most of the ticketholders), keeping myself to myself, standing on my own and waiting for my best friend to return from the toilets. I am fully aware of my surroundings and completely out of the way – it’s a Mum thing. When surrounded by people who are much younger and more excitable than yourself, you find the safety of a corner and make yourself at home.

So, as I stand there, leaning on the wall and sending a text to my friend, someone barges into me and sends my phone clattering to the floor of Alexandra Palace. I sigh slightly and bend down to pick it up. No obvious damage done and I’ve found all the parts I was previously holding. Clearly irritated that I’ve dared to take the time to ensure my phone is still working, the mystery man grunts. He’s taller than me, younger than me and quite clearly on a mission to get out of this hall as fast as possible. Then, with his hood up and head down, Mr Charming comes out with this…

‘Watch where you’re going, you fat bitch.’

I’ve heard that voice before. I look up at the face beneath the hood and I recognise it. I know those eyes. This isn’t just another ticketholder, annoyed at a meet and greet line being cut. This is a YouTuber – and a popular one at that. Hell, even I subscribed to him. He seemed nice in his videos but this guy was rude.

Firstly, you insufferable twonk, shut up. Just shut up. You clearly know nothing about physics, or chains of causality. I was stationary and standing a good two metres away from anyone else. You were hurtling towards a fire exit, head down and trying to remain invisible. I wasn’t going anywhere, you were. If we were driving, your no-claims would have gone bye-bye, so don’t think you can make it my fault that you walked into me because you’re a bit famous.

Secondly, ‘fat bitch’? Really? Really? You walk into someone else, damage their property (and shoulder!) and your go-to is to insult them? Your parents must be so proud of their little celebrity. So polite and grounded!

I wish I’d said that to him. I should have pulled his hood down, shouted his name and let the mob take over. Or explain to him that he actually quite hurt my shoulder and he owed me an apology. Instead, I stood there in shock looking as confused as a dog that had just been shown a card trick.

So Mr YouTuber, you might portray yourself as this sassy but ultimately sensitive and nice guy, but really? You’re a dick. That’s fine, it’s who you are and if you want to lie about that – you go for it. I certainly wouldn’t be proud of that personality. But what worries me most is what if I’d been someone else? I can fangirl as hard as any of them, just not for this guy. But what if I’d been one of the subscribers that idolised him? That would have broken my heart and reduced me to tears. People in his position should be aware that there are fans that devote a massive part of their lives to supporting, promoting and generally loving their idols and regardless of how annoying they may find them at times, their fans are people. I’m sure screaming fangirls and constant attention must wear your patience down, but as you wouldn’t be able to make videos for a living if they weren’t so passionate, they deserve the same respect as any other well-meaning human. They certainly deserve more respect than you, Sir. The same goes to any other celebrity that complains about their fans – remember what it’s like to idolise someone and think how you would have felt if they made you feel insignificant and stupid. Remember that it’s the fans that pay to see you perform, watch your movies or buy your merchandise and enable you to live your dream.

Most importantly – remember to be the person you’d want your kids or little siblings to look up to, because it’s a bloody long fall from the pedestal your fans put you on.

And don’t call me fat.

N xx

9 thoughts on “Star Wars…

  1. This seems to be a trend with Youtube these days! Check out what I heard recently in my post Girl Crush of the Week: The Women of Youtube. It’s crazy what is happening.

    1. I know, some of it is really sickening. But at least people are finally speaking up – that can only ever be a good thing. I was stunned about AD though, really thought he was a nice guy. I guess you only ever know what you see on screen.
      xx

Leave a comment